USFF Announces 2015 Fleet Sea, Shore Sailors of Year

Yesterday the U.S. Fleet Forces Command announced their 2015 USFFC Fleet Sea and Shore Sailors of the Year.

The 2015 Sea Sailor of the Year is Brooklyn native Aviation Boatswain’s Mate 1st Class Tinisha Franklin, homeported at Naval Station Norfolk.

The Shore Sailor of the Year is Aviation Warfare Systems Operator 1st Class Brian McGarrigle from Clearwater, Florida.

13 candidates were named for their outstanding performance and support of family and friends.

“We constantly talk about making the Fleet ready to fight and win, and I’ll tell you, these Sailors standing behind me today are the ones who put that ‘win’ into the words fight and win, no doubt about it,” said Adm. Phil Davidson, Commander, U.S. Fleet Forces Command.

The USFF Sailor of the Year program recognizes the best and brightest Sailors throughout USFF. Adm. Davidson awarded each of the finalists the Navy and Marine Corps Commendation Medal.

Congratulations to the winners, and all the finalists, listed below:

Legalman 1st Class (SW/AW/IDW) Shallon Davis
Naval Surface Squadron 14, Mayport, Florida

Cryptologic Technician 1st Class (IDW/SG) Kevin Owens
Farragut Technical Analysis Center, Washington, D.C.

Logistics Specialist 1st Class (EXW/SW) Norma Porter
Navy Expeditionary Logistics Support Group (NAVELSG), Norfolk, Virginia

Information Systems Technician 1st Class (IDW/SW/AW/SCW) Chantel Riggenbach
Military Sealift Command, Norfolk, Virginia

Machinist Mate 1st Class (SS) Mark Rosario
Trident Refit Facility (TRF), Kings Bay, Georgia