The Top Cops in Hampton Roads are Recognized

The Greater Hampton Roads Regional Crime Lines Inc. held it’s 15th annual celebration recognizing the partnership between law enforcement, media and citizens in the fight against crime. Held at the Norfolk Waterside Marriott the honor and distinction was afforded to 21 police officers, a civilian individual, and a corporation.

Area Mayors, City Council members, Chiefs, and Sheriffs, joined in the evening’s events, highlighting their agencies’ Top Cops. US Representative Bobby Scott and several Virginia State law makers were among the guests.

The following Officers were recognized and presented their locality’s Top Cop Award:
Gloucester County Sheriff’s Office – Captain David Shield
Hampton Police Department – Corporal Jeffrey R. Lawrence
Isle of Wight County Sheriff’s Office – Sergeant Kimberly Davenport
James City County Police Department – Master Police Officer Josh Drury
Newport News Police Department – Officer Jeff Imgrund
Norfolk Airport Police Department – Officer Roy Harewood
Norfolk Police Department – Lieutenant Wayne Handley
Poquoson Police Department – Detective Lisa Turner
Portsmouth Police Department – Officer Jennifer Smith
Smithfield Police Department – Officer Daniel Fordham
Suffolk Police Department – Officer Shane Sukowaski
Virginia Beach Police Department – Officer Herbert Brandon
Virginia State Police – State Trooper II Eugene R. Desaulniers II
Williamsburg Police Department – Master Police Officer Bruce Johnson
Windsor Police Department – Sergeant Grafton P. Jernigan, Master Police Officer Wiliford D. Owens Jr., Officer Joshua L. Harris, and Officer Robert B. Swan
York-Poquoson Sheriff’s Office – Lieutenant Brian Eckstein

From among the sixteen participating law enforcement jurisdictions, Officer Michael Hilton of the Chesapeake Police Department was presented the prestigious overall Regional Top Cop Award. Mr. Robert C. Moll, a 34-year veteran volunteer of the Norfolk Crime Line program received the Peter G. Decker Award as the Top Individual (Civilian).

Jo-Kell Shipboard Electrical & Industrial Automation was honored as the Top Corporation for their employees’ community involvement in fighting crime. Auxiliary Police Officer Richard Huneycutt of the Portsmouth Police Department received 2015’s Lifetime Achievement Award for 41 years of volunteer service to the City of Portsmouth. Since 1974 Auxiliary Officer Huneycutt has served the Portsmouth community as a fully-trained, state certified law enforcement officer without being paid.