Album Review: Gina and The Cow Tippin’ Playboys – Trailer Swift

Mojo Bones in OV was packed this past Saturday night to celebrate the release of Trailer Swift – the new album from Gina Dalmas and The Cow Tippin’ Playboys.  Gina and the boys have been a staple in the live music scene in Hampton Roads for the past 7 years or so playing their honky tonk from Newport News to Ocean View and everywhere in between and this album is the much-anticipated followup to their 2010 debut, Yee-Haw Etc – and it’s good. Really good.

“They say love’s for the stupid and the poor…”  That’s the line that greets you when you press play on Trailer Swift‘s opening tune Love Ain’t Nothing, a cover of the Robbie Fulks tune and really sets the tone for the 10 twang-ariffic tunes that make up the record.  Break-ups, make-ups, drinkin’ and soul searchin’ – the ingredients for a perfect country record and Trailer Swift has it all.  Greg Wikle’s guitar work on this record is superb and really shines on Out The Door.  Bassist Christopher May’s lead vocal on Bottle Of Jack, Morphine and Nine Steps are a real treat – with a husky, old school country rebel voice that will kind of lead you into trouble’s path.

Gina, Christopher, Greg and drummer Gabe Baesen have spent the better part of the last year working on the album with engineer and co-producer Shea Roebuck and their hard work  has paid off with this great album.

All in all this record is a must for any music fan.  It really brings back the rebel style of country that just isn’t heard any more.

Gina and The Cow Tippin’ Playboys – Trailer Swift